Reading on a Sofa Illustration Progress

I love to read, and recently all I’ve wanted to draw is people relaxing and reading a good book (maybe because I don’t have time to do it myself!). So brings us to this illustration!

SCN_0001.jpg

SCN_0008A few weeks ago I drafted out some ideas for an illustration series. Essentially, I wrote down a lot of things I enjoy, and somethings I wished for. As you can see, the brainstorm revolved around music, books and traveling.

 

In the end, the books won out!

 

So went through my SenshiStock Stock To Go! book and practiced drawing different relaxed positions and placing books in them. Going off of reference always turns out better than my memory–this was a fun exercise I should do more often!

reading sketch
This one made it onto Instagram!

 

The reference I really like my sketch for was this lounging one. –>

What stuck with me was the perspective. For the final sketch, I changed up the legs and, of course, added a book. In the spirit of the sofa I spend a lot of my time on, I sketched the character onto a love seat.

Onwards! (Start video!)

Since I don’t have a lightbox, I redid the sketch onto Canson Illustration paper freehand. Never as good as the original, but meh. With my handy dandy Pentel brush pen, I got to work!

I’m not as good at using a brush pen as I’d like to be–so you’ll notice in the video I go back and and thicken certain areas a few times. This allows me to have more control over which areas I thicken, but it does take up more time. More practice, and I’m sure I’ll be able to be confident in one-stroke variation!

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 5.48.20 PM
Adding the blush directly after skin layer down for blending fuzzies.

Coloring with Copic markers are super fun because you can blend them. I try to keep a consistent stroke as I apply the ink, and when I add a different color quick enough, that color soaks into the first creating a fuzzy effect at the edges (like wet-on-wet in watercolors).

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 6.09.45 PM
Brown first, red second! Then brown again to mute it more.

Mixing colors with Copics is kind of hit and miss for me (I’m an acrylic girl who loves to mix on the canvas!). I don’t have a good color for red hair in my collection, so I put down a light brown before adding a red. It is less harsh than just having the red, but it isn’t exactly what I was going for.

SCN_0009
Sofa colors first, hair mixing, then clothing matching. Final strokes of purple and red are for the cushion!

Against proper coloring procedures, I decided what colors to use in the pictures as I went along. This picture shows my ‘palette’ of colors I set next to each other to figure out which ones to use. Normally I have a better idea of what I’m getting myself into!

 

In the end, I really like how it turned out! Copics make everything you do look so professional.

Are you trying out some new mediums? How are you navigating it? I’d love to know!

Hugs!

Leave a Reply

